As of 2:15 PM yesterday I no longer have any living grandparents. My maternal grandmother passed at the ripe old age of 91. When I got the news I was a little sad but a few minutes afterwards I broke out into a big smile.
I found myself reflecting on all grandparents and thinking, bway a big jamboree going on in heaven right now when di whole a dem buck up.
As another one of my angels leave earth, these were some of my reflections of my grandparents growing up.
Gradma Harvey who died yesterday was the most reserved of all my grandparents. She was shy and humble but always taught me goodwill. She is always giving and giving and giving and giving. She was giving so much that’s she would even give away odda people tings. LOL... I will miss her dearly.
Her husband, grandpa Harvey died when I was 10 years old. I remember when he use to ride to and fro Linstead market on his donkey. One day he came from market with a bag full of mangoes for me. As he was about to reach down and hand me the bag, the donkey kick up and fling Granpa off im back. I was so frightened…but in classic style grandpa look up to me and said: “Gyal pickney, it look like seh di dankey know mi did tiyad. Come lie dung yah soh wid mi gyal”. I shifted from horror to pure laughing.
Then there was granpa Son, Son. Passed when I was 16. He was the one who spoilt me the most. Nobaddy cudden touch mi an Granpa Son, Son noh tell dem two badwod. I remember when I was about 8 or 9 and my father clap mi pan mi battam. He was so mad. There was a breadfruit at his feet that granma was going to roast for breakfast and in a state of fury, im tek di breadfruit an fling it offa mi Daddy. Im did miss and di breadfruit crashed into the wall. Im neva stap cuss mi faada seh im mussi put im &$@$%! han pan mi an im lucky im cyan si straight mek im miss.
Mi Faada jus laugh affa im.
And the Queen of comedy (sigh) Granma Myrtle Cohen. Man I miss that woman. Talk about a funny character.
For those who read ASWDI, you will notice the book is dedicated to her and she made a “cameo” appearance in one of the stories. My fondest memory of her is when shi always a chase an cuss all the animals around the yaad like dem is har pickney. She would run di daag dem an tell dem seh dem nuffi come back ina di yaad til dem larn mannaz!
An they would just go by the neighbor's yaad an chill dere until shi calm down
If the fowls did not lay enough eggs for breakfast to feed all of us, she would cuss dem affa an treaten fi stap feed dem cause dem a tun wuklis.
I Love Mama Myrtle to death!
So these are the people who “brung” me. They shaped who I am as an adult and molded my sense of humor. They taught me how to laugh and make fun of any situation, no matter how despondent they may seem. Dem neva tek stress!
They were a wonderful quartet. And I know there is a comedy show going on in heaven as we speak.
R.I.P. to them all…
<span style="font-size: 11pt"><span style="font-weight: bold"> GRANDPARENTS ROCK!!!!</span></span>

Gradma Harvey who died yesterday was the most reserved of all my grandparents. She was shy and humble but always taught me goodwill. She is always giving and giving and giving and giving. She was giving so much that’s she would even give away odda people tings. LOL... I will miss her dearly.
Her husband, grandpa Harvey died when I was 10 years old. I remember when he use to ride to and fro Linstead market on his donkey. One day he came from market with a bag full of mangoes for me. As he was about to reach down and hand me the bag, the donkey kick up and fling Granpa off im back. I was so frightened…but in classic style grandpa look up to me and said: “Gyal pickney, it look like seh di dankey know mi did tiyad. Come lie dung yah soh wid mi gyal”. I shifted from horror to pure laughing.

Then there was granpa Son, Son. Passed when I was 16. He was the one who spoilt me the most. Nobaddy cudden touch mi an Granpa Son, Son noh tell dem two badwod. I remember when I was about 8 or 9 and my father clap mi pan mi battam. He was so mad. There was a breadfruit at his feet that granma was going to roast for breakfast and in a state of fury, im tek di breadfruit an fling it offa mi Daddy. Im did miss and di breadfruit crashed into the wall. Im neva stap cuss mi faada seh im mussi put im &$@$%! han pan mi an im lucky im cyan si straight mek im miss.

And the Queen of comedy (sigh) Granma Myrtle Cohen. Man I miss that woman. Talk about a funny character.

So these are the people who “brung” me. They shaped who I am as an adult and molded my sense of humor. They taught me how to laugh and make fun of any situation, no matter how despondent they may seem. Dem neva tek stress!

R.I.P. to them all…

<span style="font-size: 11pt"><span style="font-weight: bold"> GRANDPARENTS ROCK!!!!</span></span>